Yuri Gripas/AFP/Getty Images

This all makes perfect sense now.  Twenty-two Republicans were paid off to send Trump a letter urging him to withdraw from the Paris Agreement.  Today, they got their wish.

The group of Senate Republicans sent the letter to Trump’s office last week.  They are all the most conservative of the flock and known climate change denialists.  These are the type of men who will sacrifice the long-term health of the earth to pad their pockets in the short-term.

Senator James Inhofe (R-Oklahoma) headed up the charge.  The letter’s intent was to request that Trump withdraws from the Paris Agreement to allow him to successfully repeal the Obama-era Clean Power Plan.

In 2015, Secretary of State Rex Tillerson – then CEO of ExxonMobil – slammed the Clean Power Plan because of the detrimental impact it had on ExxonMobil.

Read an excerpt from their letter to Trump below:

“A key risk to fulfilling this objective is remaining in the Paris Agreement. Because of existing provisions within the Clean Air Act and others embedded in the Paris Agreement, remaining in it would subject the United States to significant litigation risk that could upend your administration’s ability to fulfill its goal of rescinding the Clean Power Plan. Accordingly, we strongly encourage you to make a clean break from the Paris Agreement.”

According to the Center for Responsible Politics, the leader of the group, Inhofe, has received $1.8 million from the oil and gas industry during his political career — $1 million more than the next industry.

Below are the amounts each co-signer of the letter received from the oil and gas industry, via opensecrets.org:

Senator John Barrasso (R-Wyoming): $728,766

Senator Roy Blunt (R-Missouri): $1,143,574

Senator John Boozman (R-Arkansas): $281,352

Senator Thad Cochran (R-Mississippi): $462,890

Senator John Cornyn (R-Texas): $3,031,956

Senator Mike Crapo (R-Idaho): $440,937

Senator Ted Cruz (R-Texas): $2,484,520

Senator Mike Enzi (R-Wyoming): $513,733

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-Utah): $772,179

Senator Mike Lee (R-Utah): $281,620

Senator Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky): $1,975,245

Senator Rand Paul (R-Kentucky): $286,465

Senator David Perdue (R-Georgia): $184,250

Senator Jim Risch (R-Idaho): $209,900

Senator Pat Roberts (R-Kansas): $817,150

Senator Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota): $204,900

Senator Tim Scott (R-South Carolina): $523,276

Senator Richard Shelby (R-Alabama): $532,846

Senator Luther Strange (R-Alabama): (NO DATA AVAILABLE)

Senator Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina): $263,400

Senator Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi): $686,876

What is your reaction about this?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here